Over the weekend.

Did I ever mention how thankful I am to be a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints? Yes? Well here it goes again.

This past week I have had the opportunity to witness many beautiful things that further strengthened my testimony and faith in the gospel of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

On Friday morning I was able to go to the beautiful Mesa temple with Brittany for a belated 18th birthday celebration. As we got out of the car and starting walking the temple grounds, I was just filled with this sense of peace. It wasn’t a worldly peace or a man-made peace, but a powerful, heavenly, eternal peace that illuminated my spirit and made me heart swell within me. It was the peace and spirit of the Lord. Those grounds are so very sacred. We then sat down on our favorite bench to read our scriptures and patriarchal blessings. I felt warmth; warmth from the scriptures, warmth from the promises in my blessing, warmth from the smiling faces of people walking by, and warmth from the radiating light of the temple. It truly is the house of the Lord. My heart was full and happy as I left the Lord’s house that morning. My heart yearns to return to that familiar, sacred house of the Lord as soon as I can!

After leaving the temple, me and Britt continued on with her birthday celebration. We decided to do “18 acts of service” in honor of her 18th birthday. It was wonderful to see the reactions of people as we did simple deeds of kindness for them. Again, my heart grew fuller and fuller. Mosiah 2:17 is indeed a true scripture! “And behold I told you these things that ye may learn wisdom, that ye may learn that when ye are in the service of your fellow beings, ye are only in the service of your God.”

So to finish off the day we had the opportunity to attend a baptism of a young man we went to school with. Immediately walking into the room the meeting was held in, the spirit overcame me in a wave. It was so powerful. To hear the talks and testimonies that were shared strengthened my testimony so much more. The room was filled with that familiar warmth I had felt earlier that day at the temple. It was this density of truth and peace that overwhelmed my soul. It’s amazing how much one decision a person makes can have an impact on the lives of so many others. His testimony touched me the most. There was one part where he said, (referring to the other boy who introduced him to the gospel), “He literally saved my life.”

Isn’t that so true? The gospel is in fact life saving. It takes imperfect people and makes them whole. It brings us closer to God, it brings us closer to the Savior. It brings us happiness and blessings that we never even knew existed. It brings us peace and clarity during times of trial. I am a personal witness of this! The gospel is true, and it is real. God’s love is a tangible power. I feel of it daily when I strive to do what’s right.

Again, I am so thankful to be a member of God’s true church. I am so incredibly thankful. My heart is full.

 

britts bday 003

Leave a Reply

