A weekend with Family.

The only words I have to explain this past weekend is absolute bliss.

On Sunday night, my grandpa’s heart stopped working in the process of getting into bed. He was soon revived but was in critical condition as the ambulance rushed him off to the ER. The next day or two family started to arrive to say their goodbye’s. The Spirit was so strong. Although it was sad to be losing my grandpa, I couldn’t help but be filled with joy to know that his suffering was ending and that he would be able to be reunited with my sweet grandma and one of my best friends, Jesus Christ. It literally filled me with so much joy that it was almost overwhelming… but a good kind of overwhelming, if that makes sense? I loved being surrounded by my family. Siblings, cousins, aunts, uncles, friends, etc. all swarmed in for grandpa’s support.

In the early hours of the morning, once he was all alone, the Lord decided it was time for him to go. He left this mortal world and returned back to his heavenly home above. I was filled with such peace. I think all who knew him, although they were sad he was gone, were filled with peace also. That’s what the gospel brings; true and utter peace.

My house feels entirely empty and quiet without him here all the time. It’s weird not to hear his feet shuffling in the kitchen to go get some ice cream, or to go downstairs at night and not hearing the humming of his breathing machine. I really do miss him, but am so thankful that his illnesses have ended and he’s in a much, much happier place.

The Spirit felt at my grandpa’s funeral was overwhelming, but again, the good kind of overwhelming. Being there with all my siblings about shot my heart through the roof! It was ultimate joy, really. I love them so much and am so thankful for the opportunity I had to spend so much time with them before I head off to the I. We are a forever family.

Having the fam here all week, like I said, was absolute bliss. I remember as a kid when we’d visit family or have “get-togethers,” I was always filled with this joy that I never even know how to explain. Being older now, I realize that although a large majority of it is joy, the other part is the Spirit. It is SO strong when I’m with my family. It’s Heavenly Father’s way of testifying to me that families are important, eternal, valuable, sacred, and exactly what we need to be happy in this life and in the life to come. I think that’s why I am always so excited and happy when my family is around because where family is, the Spirit is also.

I’m leaving for college tomorrow and it’s ridiculously insane if you ask me… but I am so very thankful for the opportunity I had to be surrounded by my family all week before I left. It set my priorities straight. Prayers were answered. Faith was fortified. Testimony was strengthened. Spirit was felt. Kindness was spoken. Service was performed. Jokes were told. Love was given. It set me on a much happier note for going off to live 15 hours away from home. Family to me has always been home. I will miss them while I’m gone but thank goodness for the power of technology! Seriously, what would we do without it? I am filled with peace and take comfort knowing that I am never alone. Even though my earthly parents won’t be there with me, my Heavenly Parents will be, always. That fills me with so much joy.

The Lord is in the details of our lives. He hears our prayers, even when we think He doesn’t. He cares about us, He loves us. What’s important to us, is important to Him. He knows all of our concerns and cares. He gives us trials to become more like Him. I am so thankful for the hand of the Lord in my life. Lately I’ve been seeing it everywhere. It is so wonderful to me.

[Here’s some of my favorite pictures from this past weekend.]

Me and my Paigee Boo. Friends since birth.

Me and my Paigee Boo. Friends since birth.

Had another photoshoot with my bro. We're so funny.

Had another photo shoot with my bro. We’re so funny.

One of the highlights of the week. These 3 cuties stayed the night in my room with me and we had scripture study together. I read to them parts of 3rd Nephi 11, when Christ visits the America's, and they were fascinated. They kept asking questions and kept making the sweetest comments ever. I love them.

One of the highlights of the week. These 3 cuties stayed the night in my room with me and we had scripture study together. I read to them parts of 3rd Nephi 11, when Christ visits the America’s, and they were fascinated. They kept asking questions and kept making the sweetest comments ever. I love them.

My pops and Curly. I love his wrinkles. I love his boogers.

My pops and Curly. I love his wrinkles. I love his boogers.

me and my sissys. love them more than words could ever explain.

me and my sissys. love them more than words could ever explain.

Just lil' TT pals.

Just lil’ TT pals.

sibling love

sibling love.

at the burial in woodruff.

at the burial in woodruff.

my sissy is so beautiful.

my sissy is so beautiful.

Caden is the new photographer.

Caden is the new photographer.

My cousin Caden is such a stud.

My cousin Caden is such a stud.

heather and corbs playing mortal combat for hours.

heather and corbs playing mortal combat for hours.

doin' heath's hair!

doin’ heath’s hair!

love their bond. plus my sister is ridiculously stunning.

love their bond. plus my sister is ridiculously stunning.

yellow flowers EVERYWHERE. the rain and green fields were to die for. everything in my was dying for a photo shoot.

yellow flowers EVERYWHERE. the rain and misty green fields were to die for. everything in me was dying to do a photo shoot.

kickin' it in the woods.

kickin’ it in the woods.

heath being my model.

heath being my model.

the mills men. yes, that's my pops in the middle.

the mills men. yes, that’s my pops in the middle.

"Gama" with Curly and B. So flippin' cute.

“Gama” with Curly and B. So flippin’ cute.

birthday boy with his cupcakes.

birthday boy with his cupcakes.

all he wanted was the frosting.

all he wanted was the frosting.

typical corban.

typical corban.

there is beauty all around.

there is beauty all around.

Leave a Reply

