BYU-I.

It’s official kids… I’m a college student. Yep. It’s true! I’m up here at BYU Idaho and I’m loving every second of it. Okay, so maybe not the homework part but everything else is indeed amazing.

The weekend before class started I got strep throat. I was miserable. Then I had to say goodbye to my parents which was like a double whammy of terrible-ness. I spent those two days in my room crying. Bawling actually. I was totally regretting this whole college thing. Being both home sick and physically sick just does not add up very well.

But guess what! I recovered. Within the next few days I started to feel better and actually got to start doing stuff. The week passed by pretty quick and the glorious weekend came. Me and my roommates started Friday night out at Mindy Gledhill. SHE WAS AMAZING. But what else would you expect? After that we went to our first official college block party. THAT WAS EVEN MORE AMAZING. Good music, good food, good dancing, good everything… I seriously had a blast. We got to meet Mindy in person then be in the very front to see Midas Whale perform. They were amazing but again… would you expect anything less?

Getting home at 12:00am really didn’t help with the whole getting up at 5 for a temple trip. I was whining that I had to go… I dreaded it actually. Going to the temple in the morning was the last thing I wanted to do because was sooo tired and being Shelby Mills, I “NEEDED” my sleep. But I decided to go! 5am we were all up and ready to go to spend some time in the Lord’s house.

IT WAS THE MOST AMAZING TEMPLE EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE. (Sorry for the all caps I was just really excited.) I hadn’t been inside since last summer! So terrible, I know. But the Spirit there was so unbelievably strong. There is such a special Spirit in the temple. It was beautiful. It made me feel like I was home. Now I’m just anxious to get back and do some more baptisms!

The rest of the day consisted of Great Harvest, lots of walking, a grocery store trip, ridiculous amounts of walking, baking cookies, dancing, more walking, meeting our FHE boys, hanging out, watching the big football game, and did I mention walking? It was a blast as well.

So I am totally procrastinating all of my homework right now. And to be honest, I’m totally not in the mood to be writing this… like at all. So I’m gonna go now and leave you with some pictures because they can tell a better story than my words can!

Me and my totes adorb roomies! Love them.

Me and my totes adorb roomies! Love them.

Mindy Gledhill. Is she not the cutest thing you've ever seen? She was amazing!

Mindy Gledhill. Is she not the cutest thing you’ve ever seen? She was amazing!

The blockparty. Dance party.

The blockparty. Dance party.

The streets of Rexburg. We got some delicious coco bean cupcakes and hot chocolate!

The streets of Rexburg. We got some delicious coco bean cupcakes and hot chocolate!

Us with Mindy.

Us with Mindy.

Midas Whale. They're the jam.

Midas Whale. They’re the jam.

Jammin' out.

Jammin’ out.

The crew with Midas Whale.

The crew with Midas Whale.

Leave a Reply

