“If Ye Love Me.”

“It doesn’t make sense to call ourselves ugly, because we don’t really see ourselves. We don’t watch ourselves sleeping in bed, curled up and silent with our chest rising and falling with its own rhythm. We don’t see ourselves reading a book, our eyes fluttering and glowing. You don’t see yourself looking at someone with love and care inside your heart. There’s no mirror in the way when you’re laughing and smiling and happiness is leaking out of you. You would know exactly how bright and beautiful you are if you saw yourself in the moments where you are truly yourself.” -Unknown

Lately I’ve been thinking about people. Random right? I’ve just found them to be so beautiful lately. The way they cock their head back when they laugh, the way their eyes turn up when they smile, the way the light shines from their eyes when they talk about something passionately, or the way they commit to a strong hold of eye-contact when in a personal conversation with you. It’s all beautiful to me. Humans are truly fascinating. Being in college these past few months, I feel that I’ve learned more here recently than I have in my entire life. I have been blessed with so many new experiences and relationships that I learn valuable lessons from each and every single day. I feel that Heavenly Father has been teaching me a lot lately about how precious His children are to Him. He has helped me to see people in a new light.

I’m a firm believer that everything we do should be motivated out of love for another. Jesus Christ himself taught, “If ye love me, keep my commandments.” He didn’t say, “If the time is convenient,” or “If you feel like it, you should keep my commandments.” He simply stated that if you love Him and God, you do what They have commanded you to do. He is asking us to ACT upon our love for Him. That’s such a valuable lesson in our everyday relationships! What we do for each other should be acted out upon because of the love you have for them. Sometimes I think it’s easy for us to judge and decide that we don’t love someone because of what he/she has done, but this teaches us that if you love them, serve them. Isn’t it also true then that if you serve someone, you’ll love them? It works both ways! With the help of our Heavenly Father, we will be able to see others in  a newer light. I promise that. I have seen it work miracles in my life.

It just amazes me how the Lord’s hand is in everything. Every single person I’ve met up at college so far has taught me a valuable lesson. And then as I reflect upon these important people, I then think about all the wonderful people back at home. My mother, father, siblings, friends, and teachers. They all have their own beauty and talents in their own unique way. What God has been showing me lately is this: He knows and loves all of His children directly and personally. He has blessed us individually with a unique set of gifts and talents that will not only bless our own lives, but will shine forth infinitely in the lives of others. He has taught me that we are all brothers and sisters, and that there is a great desire for each of us to love one another. I’ve definitely learned recently that I’m not His only child. Sometimes I think I get caught up so much in my life, my struggles, my problems, and my successes that I forget that everyone who surrounds me is also a child of God.  He cares and loves them just the same as He cares and loves for me. I find joy in knowing that I can be a vital instrument in His hands by going out and serving and loving others deeply everyday.

My grandpa, Ken Chlarson, who passed away a couple of months ago. Loved his wrinkles and beautiful blue eyes. He was a man who knew his Savior and was never afraid to share what he believed in.

My grandpa, Ken Chlarson, who passed away a couple of months ago. Loved his wrinkles and beautiful blue eyes. He was a man who knew his Savior and was never afraid to share what he believed in.

Me dear sweet mom, who to me, is the most beautiful person in the entire world. She has the biggest heart of any person I know and loves everyone with no end.

Me dear sweet mom, who to me, is the most beautiful person in the entire world. She has the biggest heart of any person I know and loves everyone with no end.

My precious little Brighton. I love my little B. She is the most sassy little thing in the world, but is so intelligent and loving.

My precious little Brighton. I love my little B. She is the most sassy little thing in the world, but is so intelligent and loving.

My beautiful sissy Heather. She just radiates with light and kindness. I love her so dearly.

My beautiful sissy Heather. She just radiates with light and kindness. I love her so dearly.

B-Pace. Who is obviously stunning outwardly almost as much as she is inwardly. She is as solid and kind as they come.

B-Pace. Who is obviously stunning outwardly almost as much as she is inwardly. She is as solid and kind as they come.

My stunning sissy Megs, who to me looks like a complete and total (excuse the french) BA to me in this picture. She his one of the most honest and beautiful people I know.

My stunning sissy Megs, who to me looks like a complete and total (excuse the french) BA to me in this picture. She his one of the most honest and beautiful people I know.

Dude. Here is my Erm. (Amy) She just radiates with happiness and peppiness everywhere she goes.

Dude. Here is my Erm. (Amy) She just radiates with happiness and peppiness everywhere she goes.

Dude. Sasha Fierce has arrived. Jasmine definitely gets the award for the coolest and most entertaining person I know. Not only is she gorgeous, but she is genuine and loves everyone.

Dude. Sasha Fierce has arrived. Jasmine definitely gets the award for the coolest and most entertaining person I know. Not only is she gorgeous, but she is genuine and loves everyone.

Shelbs Pawlak, basically my other half. I don't think it's possible to look at her and not smile.

Shelbs Pawlak, basically my other half. I don’t think it’s possible to look at her and not smile.

My little Kate-Kate! The most chill, cutest person in the world.

My little Kate-Kate! The most chill, cutest person in the world.

Two words: Kaitlyn Nally. This girl has always been such a light in my life. Stunning both outwardly and inwardly.

Two words: Kaitlyn Nally. This girl has always been such a light in my life. Stunning both outwardly and inwardly.

My dearest Chelsea! (Kacie) She has the most contagious laugh in the entire world and I miss her so ridiculously much.

My dearest Chelsea! (Kacie) She has the most contagious laugh in the entire world and I miss her so ridiculously much.

My dearest pal, Mallory. She is the definition of a genuine person who has a strong head on her shoulders and love s with a full heart. I miss her ridiculously.

My dearest pal, Mallory. She is the definition of a genuine person who has a strong head on her shoulders and love s with a full heart. I miss her ridiculously.

My little Swirly Curly. (Cannon) Cutest, most precious little boy in the entire world.

My little Swirly Curly. (Cannon) Cutest, most precious little boy in the entire world.

Yep, that's me. And I'm trying to learn to love myself more and more each and every day. It's sometimes hard for me to recognize who I TRULY am, but with God's help, it becomes easier every day.

Yep, that’s me. And I’m trying to learn to love myself more and more each and every day. It’s sometimes hard for me to recognize who I TRULY am, but with God’s help, it becomes easier every day.

Leave a Reply

