T.w.e.n.t.y.T.h.i.r.t.e.e.n

Duuuuuude. 2013 was 50 shades of cray! It was the absolute hardest year of my life, that’s for sure, but it was definitely the most rewarding. I have never grown, learned, and loved so much in my entire life. I was completely thrown out of my comfort zone countless times, but that’s when the Lord was rooting for me to change the most. And thankfully I did! As I turned to Him during my hard times, I become stronger in ways that I never thought were imaginable. There surely is no growing in a comfort zone and no comfort in a growing zone. But what I’ve learned is that that’s OKAY. It’s important for us to continually seek out new opportunities to change. The more we draw closer to our Father in Heaven and the more we become more like His Son, Jesus Christ, the happier we will be. And that’s a fact, Jack.

Not to brag, but the wonderful thing about me is that I take pictures… OF EVERYTHING. So my entire life is pretty much documented. It’s fantastic. I thought the greatest way to highlight my 2013 year would be to do so through pictures. Some are definitely better quality than others, but oh well, deal with it bro.

Mormon Prom was a hoot. Had a wonderful time with wonderful people.

Mormon Prom was a hoot. Had a wonderful time with wonderful people.

Getting my senior pictures done was a jam and a half. It was nice to be on the other side of the camera for a change.

Getting my senior pictures done was a jam and a half. It was nice to be on the other side of the camera for a change.

Spending time with these girls before we all went our separate ways. Kacie and Kaitlyn are now off serving the Lord and me and Britt are up at the I. It was a reunion that was definitely needed.

Spending time with these girls before we all went our separate ways. Kacie and Kaitlyn are now off serving the Lord and me and Britt are up at the I. It was a reunion that was definitely needed.

Oh yeah, I totally graduated high school, so that's always exciting. Best dressed 2013! That's right son!

Oh yeah, I totally graduated high school, so that’s always exciting. Best dressed 2013! That’s right son!

Mumford and Son's concert was practically life-changing. So, so very beautiful.

Mumford and Son’s concert was practically life-changing. So, so very beautiful.

Spending time and going to girls camp with these nerds. Love them so.

Spending time and going to girls camp with these nerds. Love them so.

These two nerds are my jam. Late night talks are how we do.

These two nerds are my jam. Late night talks are how we do.

001

San Fransisco was basically the shortest but most beautiful trip of my life.

Oh yeah! I definitely met Olan Rogers. Like HELLO. My life was made.

Oh yeah! I definitely met Olan Rogers. Like HELLO. My life was made.

Loved spending so much time with my family. I love my sister Heather beyond belief.

Loved spending so much time with my family. I love my sister Heather beyond belief.

Even though my grandpa's passing was a sad event, I had never felt so much happiness in my life than I did that week spending time with my family. It was absolute bliss.

Even though my grandpa’s passing was a sad event, I had never felt so much happiness in my life than I did that week spending time with my family. It was absolute bliss.

Another favorite from the funeral. I have the raddest siblings in the world.

Another favorite from the funeral. I have the raddest siblings in the world.

So yeah I came up to the I and immediately clicked with er'body I met. Me and my Erm relishing in the leaves.

So yeah I came up to the I and immediately clicked with er’body I met. Me and my Erm relishing in the leaves.

We clicked instantly. Clothing style, music choice, food choice, dancing style... just everything. Love this girl beyond words could explain.

We clicked instantly. Clothing style, music choice, food choice, dancing style… just everything. Love this girl beyond words could explain.

Mesa Falls with Amy, Kate, and Jay. We were chillin with the burs and the durs.

Mesa Falls with Amy, Kate, and Jay. We were chillin with the burs and the durs.

General conference in Salt Lake was amazzzzing.

General conference in Salt Lake was amazzzzing.

The affects of "No-man-November". Thankfully I had Kate to dwell in self-pity with at that time.

The affects of “No-man-November”. Thankfully I had Kate to dwell in self-pity with at that time.

Halloween with my roomies. We keep things fresh.

Halloween with my roomies. We keep things fresh.

If I could summarize college in one picture, it would be this.

If I could summarize college in one picture, it would be this.

Had a blast this night. Late night shoots are our jam.

Had a blast this night. Late night shoots are our jam.

Oh yeah... can't forget the snow. COMPLETELY new experience for me but I actually love it.

Oh yeah… can’t forget the snow. COMPLETELY new experience for me but I actually love it.

When I say we spend every single day over at Jay's for like 5-8 hours at a time, it's not a lie. Love my Church and homie Britt so much. Their chillness could kill.

When I say we spend every single day over at Jay’s for like 5-8 hours at a time, it’s not a lie. Love my Church and homie Britt so much. Their chillness could kill.

Me and Church! Chillest, cutest, funniest person you will evs meet. I love college you guys. Like seriously.

Me and Church! Chillest, cutest, funniest person you will evs meet. I love college you guys. Like seriously.

So we moved into an apartment together. We're a big deal you guys.

So we moved into an apartment together. We’re a big deal you guys.

So I definitely came back to AZ and reunited with the Pam trio. Good times, good times.

So I definitely came back to AZ and reunited with the Pam trio. Good times, good times.

Loved spending so much time with my B. She is my bestest little buddy. I mean just look at that face!

Loved spending so much time with my B. She is my bestest little buddy. I mean just look at that face!

This nerd is the bee's knees. Seriously my jam. I look at her and instantly want to start crumping.

This nerd is the bee’s knees. Seriously my jam. I look at her and instantly want to start crumping.

Loved spending so much time with my fam.

Loved spending so much time with my fam.

My on the last day of the year. It twas a good one.

1My on the last day of the year. It twas a good one.

So here is to 2013! Another semester up at college. New people to meet, more friends to make, and more memories to make with the wonderful people that I already do have in my life. I am so excited to see what this year will bring. A LOT of change I hope, and change for the better that is. I want to try to be the best version of Shelby that I can possibly be. My 2014 motto: “Obedience brings blessings, but perfect obedience brings about miracles.” My life is all in the hands of the Lord.

One thought on “T.w.e.n.t.y.T.h.i.r.t.e.e.n

  1. You are seriously the bees knees! I’m so glad I’m apart of that jammin! Can’t wait to make some more sweet memories this year! Go cray(eat, sleep, study, chill, eat some more, take pictures, and eat, and eat) up at BYU I this semester! See ya in April!

Leave a Reply

